The Thin Red Line

Every man fights his own war.

Categories: Drama, History, War

Based on the graphic novel by James Jones, The Thin Red Line tells the story of a group of men, an Army Rifle company called C-for-Charlie, who change, suffer, and ultimately make essential discoveries about themselves during the fierce World War II battle of Guadalcanal. It follows their journey, from the surprise of an unopposed landing, through the bloody and exhausting battles that follow, to the ultimate departure of those who survived. A powerful frontline cast - including Sean Penn, Nick Nolte, Woody Harrelson and George Clooney - explodes into action in this hauntingly realistic view of military and moral chaos in the Pacific during World War II.
Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1998-12-25
Run time: 170 minute / 2:50
Budget: $52,000,000
Revenue: $98,126,565
Director: Terrence Malick
Writer: Terrence Malick
Production Companies : Fox 2000 Pictures, Phoenix Pictures, Geisler-Roberdeau
Production Countries: Canada, United States of America


Sean Penn
as 1st Sgt. Edward Welsh
Adrien Brody
as Cpl. Geoffrey Fife
Jim Caviezel
as Pvt. Robert Witt
Ben Chaplin
as Pvt. Jack Bell
George Clooney
as Capt. Charles Bosche
John Cusack
as Capt. John Gaff
Woody Harrelson
as Sgt. William Keck
Elias Koteas
as Capt. James 'Bugger' Staros
Nick Nolte
as Lt. Col. Gordon Tall
John C. Reilly
as Sgt. Maynard Storm
John Travolta
as Brig. Gen. David Quintard
Kirk Acevedo
as Pvt. Alfredo Tella
Mark Boone Junior
as Pvt. Christopher Peale
Matt Doran
as Pvt. Howard Coombs
Paul Gleeson
as 1st Lt. George "Brass" Band
Don Harvey
as Sgt. Paul Becker
Arie Verveen
as Pfc. Charlie Dale
Jared Leto
as 2nd Lt. William Whyte
John Savage
as Sgt. Jack McCron
Nick Stahl
as Pfc. Edward Bead
Miranda Otto
as Marty Bell
Tim Blake Nelson
as Pvt. Brian Tills
Dash Mihok
as Pfc. Don Doll
Larry Romano
as Pvt. Frank Mazzi
Penelope Allen
as Witt's Mother
Danny Hoch
as Pvt. Leonardo Carni
Terrence Malick Director

Terrence Malick Screenplay
James Jones Novel

George Stevens Jr. Executive Producer
Robert Michael Geisler Producer
Grant Hill Producer
John Roberdeau Producer
Sheila Davis Lawrence Producer

John Toll Director of Photography

Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer

Dianne Crittenden Casting

Jack Fisk Production Design
Ian Gracie Art Direction
Richard Hobbs Set Decoration
Suza Maybury Set Decoration

Leslie Jones Editor
Saar Klein Editor
Billy Weber Editor

Costume & Make-Up
Margot Wilson Costume Design
Kerry Thompson Costume Supervisor

 © 2017

Powered by: